Science Knowledge Organisers

Two weeks ago, our illustrious Assistant Head Joe Kirby wrote a blog on the the most valuable content that subject leaders at Michaela want all pupils to remember for ten years and beyond. Although Mr Kirby and my more disciplined colleagues distil that knowledge onto a single page, I, the reprobate Head of Science, do not always manage this. Mr Kirby, the most pragmatic reformer of us all, sums up the advantages of knowledge organisers here:

“When a new teacher starts in a school, one of the first questions they have is ‘what do I teach?’ At a single glance, knowledge organisers answer that. Everything our pupils need to know for the year is set out clearly in advance.”

Today on Twitter, Nick Wells asked for me to share my Science knowledge organisers. I am not one to deny the people what they want. What can I say? I am basically a modern day Jesus. So here they are, my friends. Enjoy them. Relish them.

If you are not of the knowledge persuasion, you may choose to print them out, Pritt Stick them together and use them as a blanket for those balmy, but unpredictable spring evenings. At least then they would not go to waste.

Science Knowledge Organisers

Let me take this opportunity to plug an upcoming debate on ‘Science: knowledge versus skills’ on 30/04/15 (evening). The venue is TBC, but in London somewhere. Jip ahoy!

10 thoughts on “Science Knowledge Organisers

  1. Thanks – I was quite taken with Joe Kirby’s post and I’ll read these with interest. The knowledge vs skills evening is something I’d very much like to attend but I doubt my budget would spring an airfare from Melbourne.

    Like

  2. Hey Olivia, I’ve poached your Science Knowledge organisers so many thanks for that. They seem exceptionally detailed – are they pitched to a particular Year group?

    Like

    1. Hi,

      You are very welcome; I hope that they can be of use! They are pitched to year seven. At Michaela, we teach 4 hours of science per week. The grey definitions are the ones I may not expect the lower ability pupils to master.

      Best,

      Olivia

      Like

Leave a Reply

